More information will be posted here when it becomes available.

DPS Commendation Ceremony Honors Officers and Civilians

Celebrating the work and dedication of law enforcement and public safety professionals from the University of Pennsylvania, as well as its neighborhood partners, Penn’s Division of Public Safety recognized more than 35 honorees at its biannual Commendation Ceremony, Wednesday, Nov. 9, including Penn Police Officer Ed Miller and Philadelphia Police Sgt. Sylvia Young, who were both shot in the line of duty earlier this year. DPS swore in seven new police officers: Michael Dougherty, Tomasz Czarnuszewicz, Andrew Cheezun, Thomas Holland, Ashley McHenry, Jhonny Mercier, and Thomas Weldon.

       Officers, detectives and dispatchers who have demonstrated special initiative, perseverance and exceptional performance were applauded for going above and beyond the call of duty.

       “The ceremony honors members of the Division of Public Safety, but also their partners, including Allied Universal, the University City District, the Philadelphia Police Department and the people of West Philadelphia for their dedication, commitment and outstanding service in keeping University City a safe place to learn, work and live,” said Maureen S. Rush, vice president for public safety and superintendent of Penn Police. “This ceremony illustrates all the brave and amazing work that is done quietly behind the scenes every day by our first responders.”

       The University of Pennsylvania’s Division of Public Safety honored members of its Penn Police Department with merit commendations, including: Sgt. David Adler, Sgt. CaseyAnn Busch, Sgt. Joseph Ferdman, Sgt. Nicole McCoy, Sgt. Nicole Michel, Detective Charles Boyle, Detective David Callis, Detective Philip Lydon, Detective William McCullough, Detective Ray Rodman, Detective Paul Sawicki, Officer John Alexander, Officer Richard Cray, Officer Dominic DiLorenzo II, Officer Dominic DiLorenzo III, Officer Candice Gongora, Officer Joseph Hammond, Officer Ryan James, Officer Terrance Jones, Officer James Kearns, Officer Joseph Marone, Officer Benjamin Mauro, Officer Joseph McDermott, Officer Robert McKellick, Officer Gregory Price, Officer Charles Ritterson, Officer Eric Rohrbach, Officer Jason Squadroni, Officer Matthew Sycz, Officer Michael Sylvester, Officer Steven Thammavong, Officer Francis Toth, Officer Thomas Waters, and Officer Kenneth Yuen.

       Letters of Recognition went to officers from the Philadelphia Police Department, including Officer Brad Vallette, Officer Brian McCarthy, Officer Charles Deely, Officer Frank Kennedy, Officer James Graziano, Officer John Weber, and Officer Michael McCafferty.

       DPS honored West Philadelphia recipients with Letters of Commendation, including Rich Vanish and Jonathan Moore and Jessica Scott, Jordan Myers and Mary Lydon, who are all members of the Penn Emergency Communications Center, or PennComm, team.

       DPS also recognized the bravery of several Penn Students who assisted a fellow student while she was being robbed, identifying the suspects to police. Thanks to their actions the robbery suspects were apprehended.

View photos of the event here.

Award recipients