More information will be posted here when it becomes available.

DPS Fall Commendation Ceremony

On November 22nd DPS held its Fall 2022 Commendation Ceremony, which highlighted great accomplishments by members of Public Safety and our community partners. The awards represented moments of collaboration throughout Public Safety and across the University.

Vice President Kathleen Shields Anderson led the ceremony, which opened with an Invocation by University Chaplain Charles Howard. Senior Executive Vice President Craig Carnaroli spoke about the great partnerships DPS fosters with the local community, noting participation in multiple charitable events this year, including bike rides, runs, and donation drives and hosting PAL events on campus.

The ceremony included the annual John A. Cook Award, which is presented to a Penn community member who exemplifies the Penn Ready Program.  This year’s winner, Michelle Majeski, was presented the award by Chief Gene Janda.

Chief Janda spoke of her commitment to safety, “Michelle Majeski’s positive attitude and tireless drive has placed her as a leader for promoting safety and emergency preparedness in every Penn residential building.  Michelle is a strong partner of the Division of Public Safety for accomplishing the basic principles of the PennReady program.”

DPS also welcomed four new officers for their official swearing-in, Edward Alderson, Hamidou Barry, Ryan Feeley and Liam Herron, and celebrated the reassignments and promotions of four officers, Sgt. William Hartner, Sgt. Charles Ritterson, Detective Joseph Marone and Detective Anthony Smart.

The ceremony closed with a Benediction by the Reverend William Gipson, who also serves on the DPS Advisory Board.

Congratulations to all of the award winners, and thank you for your dedication to the safety and wellbeing of our community.